Lewiston Youth Advisory Council


Lewiston Scavenger Hunt


The Lewiston Youth Advisory Council (LYAC) was established by the Lewiston City Council in 2001, with the Charter membership first meeting in September 2002.  Each spring renders a new application/interview process, with each LYAC year running from July to July. 

Since then, members have worked closely with municipal staff, state/local officials, and members of the community on various initiatives that have been very positive for the City of Lewiston.  LYAC is annually sponsored by the Lewiston Firefighters Association; thank you! To contact the youth council, please call 207-513-3018 or email LYAC.

On July 13, 2021, the 2021 - 2022 membership was announced during the evening’s City Council meeting.  

LYAC - MEMBERSHIP - 2021 - 2022The 2021 - 2022 Membership
(July 2021 - July 2022)

Ryleigh Emmert, Chair
Keira Potvin, Vice-Chair
Elissa Nadeau, Secretary

Nafisa Tasnia, Treasurer
Cadence Nadeau
Brea Mathieu
Emily Fournier
Hannah Arsenault
Sharmarke Khalid
Abas Shidad
Omar Osman
Anzal Isaak

Youth Council Mission

"The LYAC shall serve as an advisory council to the Lewiston City Council in regards to community issues affecting youth and shall serve as a liaison between the youth of the community and the City. The LYAC shall enable youth to work toward goals that empower all of the community’s youth and to undertake service projects that enhance the community."

Advisor - Dottie Perham-Whittier, Community Relations Coordinator

City Council Liaison - Councilor Linda Scott